Adanna:  My Moving Story

Adanna: My Moving Story

Who says that beauty laden with good character does not attract better than a magnet will to crown corks. In a little village called Kokoritem,  a pretty young girl,  Adanna,  was born to the admiration of many but the sadness of the father.  Children are indeed great gifts from the gods, but it seems Mazi Malizu had a crooked path with the gods. His ‘chi’ has forsaken him. Nine girls in a row is enough to attract unguided derision from all and sundry. The pressure to take a second wife is looming,  but Obidiya remains the love of his life. Although, he’s a titled chief in the land of Kokoritem,  but this is not a yard stick to be respected if a heir is not present. This is one thing he had to battle for the rest of his life. Come to think of it, who instituted this patrilineal laws to chastise those who don’t have a male child? I have endured this pain that society had bestowed on me stressing my wife who’s now looking frail in order to have a male child. I have resolved to keep it simple and forget about it.  My family is my world and a world dotted with pockets of trouble crumbles and when it crumbles,  the flock is scattered.
How long shall I endure? 

picking up memories of hatred

 looking down on myself

 Thinking of how to measure

 moving slowly through the needle like a thread

 looking down on myself
The world care less about my happiness 

 my strength is not phenotypic 

for my tomorrow will shine

I’m celebrated for my act of kindness 

but chastisement of my soul is myopic

my sins are my daughters which number nine
How long shall I endure this aspersion? 

when shall I stand shoulder tall? 

who will listen to my story? 

Child birth  is supposed to elicit celebration

but my ego has been punctured with  a flat fall

this is not happening as a story.
A girl child is to be treasured 

For in her lives the destiny of many

A child’s sex should not be measured 

For you never know who’ll bring smile to many

Adanna is my moving story

And her exploit becomes my story
Opia-Enwemuche Maxwell Onyemaechi 

©09-09-2017

@maxxzymusdapoet

This entry was posted in Opinion.

2 comments on “Adanna:  My Moving Story

  1. abubakarishaqeazy says:

    The story moved too swiftly. You did not take time to build your plot well enough.

    Like

Leave a comment