MY MIND IS A MINE

MY MIND IS A MINE

My mind is a scattered beautiful field

With memories fighting each other

Rearing their heads to come alive again.

Some appear crafted and skilled,

As they mesmerize others to live forever.

Why should I go through this excruciating pain?

I think of my departed son every day.

I just returned from these scattered thoughts today.

 

My mind is a mine of scattered beautiful thoughts

With memories struggling to show their own might

& rare opportunities to help me forget my own pain

Some thoughts are hard as nuts –

So difficult to forget even at daylight –

With the agony of my loss dancing before my face again & again.

I remember the son of my loins in tears

& I speak not of my many fears.

 

My mind is a mine full of ideas,

But immersed in a bucket of tears

Seeking ways to manufacture joy every day;

Never to forget the memories of losing one of my heirs

For my fleshy cheeks has bowed to a deluge of tears

& memories abounding in my mind

As my lost joy I struggle to find.

 

My mind is a scattered beautiful mine

& without your living memories, I’ll whine.

 

Opia-Enwemuche Maxwell Onyemaechi

©04-04-2018

lost-places-Michael Gaida.poetryportion.com

Image credit- Michael Gaida

 

Leave a comment